Karla Coffey

Karla Coffey preparing for her equestrian career

My name is Karla Jo Coffey. I came from Boone, a small town in western North Carolina. I've always had a passion for horses and for riding.

I remember when I was little, my grandfather use to plow the tobacco fields with an old white horse named Bob. I was too small to help, so he would sit me upon Bob and let me enjoy the ride through the fields. (That's when I got hooked on horses.) But as I grew, I had to start helping with the work and dearly missed my rides on Bob. Somewhere between the barn and the tobacco field, I realized I wanted to ride, I wanted a horse of my own.

I worked hard and saved enough money to buy a three year old Appaloosa. I rode him everywhere on trails and wagon trains. But it wasn't enough. I wanted more. I wanted a career with horses. I decided to go to school and learn all I could. Now, I'm nearing my graduation day and I'm kind of nervous but excited. My main interests are in cutting and reining. Someday, I plan to have my own training and showing facility.

Karla will graduate with a Riding Master VI on Feb. 27, 1998. She has taken a job working for Stephen and Cindy Stephens in Weatherford, TX.


The progress we have seen in Erin's riding and other horse skills has been tremendous. She came to Meredith Manor without a significant amount of riding experience. Today she is a proficient rider, and the confidence she has developed in the care and training of horses is very satisfying for both of us.
Parents of Erin McElmury: 1996 Riding Master Graduate